Lights, camera, ACTION! Chatting with actor Brian Kaulback.

Back in the late 70’s, I was a working actor (which meant I was also a waitress or bartender!!). One of my favourite gigs was actor/writer at the Flamingo Cabaret located in what was then the German-Canadian Club on Sherbourne St, Toronto – now home to the Phoenix Nightclub. We were a group of crazy improv actors, much like Second City, but we didn’t have the big show budgets they did. We were lucky if we made $50 a week each back then, but we loved creating comedy sketches and making people laugh. And we were especially happy when our shows scored better reviews than Second City did…and that was pretty frequent (I still have the press clippings to prove it!!).

img241L to R: Brian, Jim, me & Lawrence on stage at the Flamingo Cabaret (1979)

I’ve kept in touch with a couple of my cast mates and recently sat down with the hard-working Brian Kaulback  whose face you may recognize from his numerous appearances as Constable Hodge on the hit tv series, Murdoch Mysteries. (Brian is below right with Murdoch star Yannick Bisson, centre) and movies such as Tommy Boy, Gotti, Cold Creek Manor and X-Men.

BK murdochPhoto: Craig Grant/Shaftesbury Prods.

Q: Brian, did you always want to be an actor, and when/what was your first acting job?
BK: When I was in Grade 3, I entered a school talent show and sang Perry Como’s “Catch a Falling Star” and I remember the applause at the end of the song….and I was hooked on wanting to be on stage. By the time I was in Gr. 7 or 8 and I saw my older brother, Gary, in a school musical “My Fair Lady” and I followed a few years later by getting involved in my high school production of “Oliver”.

Q: Theatre, film or TV…which do you like the best and why?
BK: I love theatre, although I’m unfortunately out of the loop in the Toronto theatre scene right now. It’s more about who you know and being connected, but that’s not to say I wouldn’t do a theatre production if asked. It makes more financial sense for me right now to focus on film and television like I have for many years.

Q: You’ve been working on Murdoch Mysteries, one of Canada’s most successful series airing around the world. What’s it like on set – who do you hang with and how did you flesh out the character of Const. Hodge?
BK:  After 8 seasons on Murdoch Murder Mysteries, it really has become a family with the cast and crew. Mostly I hang out with the other regular Constables as they have a nice room set aside for us with couches and lockers – all very comfortable and relaxing.

Brian KQ: You recently wrote an outline for a tv series called Forensic Fringe Cop and a pilot has already been shot. What inspired the story and what are your aspirations for the show?
BK: I wrote an outline for “Forensic Fringe Cop” while hanging out with the Murdoch constables. It was my first time ever doing something like that and when I showed it to a couple of the other constable actors (Jason Barbeck and Rafael Kalamat) they said why don’t we shoot this. So they became my director and producer and we shot it in one day. I live in The Performer Arts Lodge (PAL building) in downtown Toronto and fellow resident native Canadian actor Billy Merasty inspired the story. However, when it came to shooting the pilot he wasn’t available to play the lead so we had to recast. I feel that Tim Hill, another native Canadian actor, did a very good job in the role, and I would love to “Forensic Fringe Cop” be developed into a series.

FFCQ:  Among other great directors, you’ve also been directed by one of my favourite Canadian actors, Clark Johnson, who starred in Homicide: Life on the Streets – a brilliantly written cop show set in Baltimore. Did you learn anything from Clark that you are now applying to your work as a writer/actor?
BK:  I met Clark Johnson when I was standing in for the lead actor on series called “Katts and Dog”. At the time, Clark was keeping himself busy working for the Special Effects Department. He really knows how to work with actors and through the years I would bump into him and once in awhile, hand him my latest demo reel and thankfully he would remember me. He brought me in to audition for a couple of good projects and I got the roles. He never forgets what it’s like to be a struggling actor and he was willing to give me opportunities. As an actor, I really appreciated the faith he put in me and I’ll never forget that.

Q:  Any upcoming films, tv shows or stage appearances we should watch for?
BK: I had a small role on “Haunted Peak” directed by Guillermo del Toro and starring Jessica Chastain, Charlie Hunnam and Tom Hiddleston, and I hope my scene is still in when it comes out. Having del Toro’s name on your resume certainly doesn’t hurt. I’m also waiting to hear on a few more projects but nothing certain yet…oh the life of an actor!

Q: Do you have a website or social media account we can follow you on?
BK: I’m not too computer savvy so Facebook is the only social media I’m on. I welcome tv and film fans to come on over and Like my Facebook page: Facebook.com/Brian.Kaulback

BK photo 2Congratulations to Brian on successfully shooting his “Forensic Fringe Cop” pilot with Rafael and Jason of RDG Entertainment Inc.  http://reeldealguys.com/ and fingers crossed we’ll soon see Brian chasing down the bad guys in his own TV show!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

